The Industry Comes Together To Launch The Australian Women in Music Awards (AWMA)

Protesting a lack of gender equality and diversity in the Australian music scene, tastemakers from all around Australia have come together to rise above the under-representation of women on the airwaves, in festival line-ups, as award recipients and in positions of power in the industry. For the first time in Australian music history, the Australian Women In Music Awards (AWMA) will turn the spotlight on women, recognising and including first nations and multicultural performers, excellence in artistry, technical and production skills, cross-cultural development, songwriting, music education, music photography, management, and humanitarian work, amongst much more.

Officially announced in Brisbane today by the Queensland Minister for Women, Di Farmer, the AWMA will be staged in Brisbane from October 9-10, 2018 and include a diverse list of artists backing the ground-breaking initiative, including the likes of Tina Arena, Deborah Conway, Kate Ceberano, Debra Byrne, Katie Noonan, Christine Anu, Clare Bowditch, Isabella Manfredi, Jen Cloher, Sophie Koh, Kween G, Patricia ‘Little Pattie’ Amphlett, the late Chrissy Amphlett, the late Ruby Hunter and APRA Chair, Jenny Morris.


“It’s time to proudly stand together and celebrate the ground-breaking achievements of women in our industry over many generations. It’s Time!”


“As a fiercely proud Queensland artist, I am thrilled that my home state Government has shown the leadership to support this awesome initiative,” AWMA Advisor and Artistic Director of the Queensland Music Festival, Katie Noonan said. With increasing focus on the under-representation of Australian women, those involved want to take back the power just like many others working in the industry. “History is finally on our side. We need to grab this moment with an open and united heart.” AWMA Founding Director Vicki Gordon said.

The Entertainment Journalism Program Leader at Collarts, Tracee Hutchison will also be taking the chair of the National Advisory Council and will be working as part of the delivery team. “It’s time to proudly stand together and celebrate the ground-breaking achievements of women in our industry over many generations. It’s Time!”, broadcaster, academic and now Chair of AWMA’s National Advisory Council, Tracee Hutchison said.

Introducing the announcement, Tracey continues. “We know that women represent only one-fifth of songwriters and composers registered with APRA, for example. And we know that in the 30 years of Triple J’s Hot 100, not a single woman or band fronted by a woman has taken out the Number 1 spot. We also know that the mood for change is palpable—nationally and internationally—and that our industry’s peak bodies, of which Q-music is a leader, are part of driving that change. And we know that the time is absolutely right—to create a platform to recognize the ongoing contribution of women in range of roles across the breadth of the Australian music industry.”

Although it was a long time coming, the AWMA’s arrive at a critical time of gender-tide turning that Collarts is excited to see change conversations. Find out more here:


The inaugural Australian Women in Music Awards (AWMA) are to be staged at Brisbane Powerhouse from October 9-10, 2018.

Vicki Gordon

Tracee Hutchison

Chrissy Amphlett (posthumous)
Patricia Amphlett
Debra Byrne
Kate Ceberano
Deborah Conway
Ruby Hunter (posthumous)
Jenny Morris

Christine Anu, Artist (TI/NSW)
Clare Bowditch, Artist (VIC)
Johanna Campbell, CAAMA (NT)
Kween G, Artist (NSW)
Sophie Koh, Artist (VIC)
Isabella Manfredi, Artist (NSW)
Katie Noonan, Artist (QLD)
Poppy Reid, Seventh Street Media (NSW)