Peter Farnan

Songwriting Teacher

Peter Farnan was founding member and principal songwriter for iconic Australian band Boom Crash Opera and before that seminal post punk trio Serious Young Insects. He has recorded with several well-known producers (Alex Sadkin, Jimmy Iovine, Don Gehman, Keith Forsey) both here and overseas. He has worked extensively in theatre as a composer, sound designer and music director for MTC, Malthouse, QTC, Black Swan and Belvoir Company B, in Australia and in the UK and Korea.

Peter was a composer and music producer for the feature film The Boy Castaways which features Tim Rogers, Megan Washington and Paul Capsis. He also produced the soundtrack album and was MD for Songs of Wreck and Ruin for the Melbourne Festival at the Forum. He has a practice-based research Masters from Melbourne University where he focussed on popular songwriting and recording.

His current project is a solo/band album of his songs sung by guest vocalists, including Paul Kelly, Rebecca Barnard, Tim Rogers, Emily Lubitz, Ali Barter, Deborah Conway, Charles Jenkins and Sean Kelly.